The Graces by Laure Eve Review

Tuesday, August 2nd 2016

As always, thanks to the powers of Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to read the advances copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

thegraces

Honestly, there is no way any reader is not going to be curious about The Graces by Laure Eve. The book is physically beautiful in any possible way, both the Dutch cover as well as the English cover are both immaculate as well as alluring. And if the cover is not physically alluring the book synopsis is just as mysterious. Whose not going to be absolutely curious about a group of teen witches that are mysterious, even to the eyes of their small town neighbors?

The Graces by Laure Eve ReviewThe Graces (The Graces, #1) by Laure Eve
Published by Amulet Books on September 6th 2016
Genres: Paranormal, Fantasy, Witches
Pages: 352
Format: eBook, Hardcover, Paperback
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

In The Graces, the first rule of witchcraft states that if you want something badly enough, you can get it . . . no matter who has to pay.   Everyone loves the Graces. Fenrin, Thalia, and Summer Grace are captivating, wealthy, and glamorous. They’ve managed to cast a spell over not just their high school but also their entire town—and they’re rumored to have powerful connections all over the world. If you’re not in love with one of them, you want to be them. Especially River: the loner, new girl at school. She’s different from her peers, who both revere and fear the Grace family. She wants to be a Grace more than anything. And what the Graces don’t know is that River’s presence in town is no accident.   This fabulously addictive fantasy combines sophisticated and haunting prose with a gut-punching twist that readers will be dying to discuss. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars as well as nostalgic classics like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the 1996 movie The Craft, The Graces marks the beginning of a new wave of teen witches.

I have to say that I never read any books by author Laure Eve, I have to say based on the book synopsis this book was truly disappoint because of the misleading book synopsis.I feel that some book synopsis can lead readers in to believe more about the book that what is actually written. I believe if the authors message left on one of the Goodreads profile of the book were inserted into the actually book, perhaps a prologue, it might sent the tone better for the readers. This is not Buffy the Vampire Slayer and it’s the most embarrassing parts of The Craft that the Pagan community is trying to over come today. Instead I feel that Laure Eve’s explanation on Goodread is what really lead my reading heart to a gentler synopsis of this book

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 8.31.39 AM

Weakness

The plot. The plot got really boring. The plot got very predictable. The plot had unnecessary details that did not strengthen the story nor did it help create a connection between character and reader.  I really wanted to connect with the Graces, as a magical family since my family has a long history of West Indies Witchcraft. Thus I know what it’s like to have a small town (imagine a small island) creating rumors about you, plus your entire family. I felt the family dynamic was great but I could not relate to any character, not even the shocking, but not so shocking bisexual character.

Romance

I love romances. I love romances. I don’t care what type of romance it is. I am there. I will support you, because I love romances. I even have the word ROMANCE, tattooed across my fingers. I am that in love with romances. This book had romances, I think. River, had to change who she was in order to get Fernin Grace to pay attention to her, which in my book is a NO. Fernin gave mix signals the entire time which lead to a not so shocking romantic surprise. What made the shocking romance surprise not so shocking is that Fernin and River had NO CHEMISTRY AT ALL. No Chemistry. None. Strangers on Grindr have more chemistry than these teenagers!

Characters

The characterization in the novel is leaning on the weak sauces. The dialogue and the different, or lack of personality in very character is disheartening. I could not connect with any character, which really made me sad. How can I not connect with anyone? ANYONE. I am a bi sexual witch living in a small town, and I couldn’t relate to none of them? I’m not even a Lux but I can connect with Katy and her love for books. There needs to be something characters can at least fall in love with or make a connection with, when they are reading a book. This book didn’t have it for me.

Strengths

The novel is a contemporary novel, yet I did not know where exactly this story took place. I knew that the location was in a small town, where they are surfers, thus beaches. But their are also a forest as well as a prime location for old Blue Blooded Money family to have a home big enough, that the parents had their own “wing”. Thus the beginning of this novel was completely intriguing since it was cloaked in mystery. This only drew me in more, I kept wanting to know more and more about what the main character, renamed River. I wanted to know more about the Graces, and their connection. I wanted to know more about what exactly made these characters connect, as well as what made them so mysterious that the town surrounded them with rumors or gossip. The author describe the Graces the say way that you would  Twilight the Cullens. Everyone wants to be their friend, everyone wants to know more about them, but at the same time they are always surrounding each other, and only loyal to each other. The Graces felt like a combination of the Black family from Jennifer L. Armentrout Lux Series, and the Cullens from Twilight. Which means I got tried of them rather fast when I realize they weren’t actually paranormal, but more pretentious rich brats. I love them.

It’s because I think the Graces like to play the victims and ignore the way they treat people that I really hope that Marcus and River really get their vengeances on them. I really don’t think this book should be marked as paranormal fantasy, it should be possible  contemporary coming to age witches of all mighty fury! Yea I know that is a long category but I think we can make it happen.

Final Thoughts

I feel that the book synopsis is truly misleading readers to believe the book focusing more on the paranormal elements of witchcraft when it’s truly not. I feel that for those who are expecting the book to be Fire Walker by Josephine Angeline, are going to be highly disappointed. I feel that this series has more to offer. I truly hope it surprises me because I feel that there is something brewing in the combined mines of Marcus and River 3.0!

0 Responses to: The Graces by Laure Eve Review

No comments yet.

Join The Conversation!

CommentLuv badge